Skip to content

Six HISD elementary teachers selected as finalists for science award

2021 March 24
by HISD Communications

Six district science teachers have been selected as finalists for the 2021 Elementary Science Teacher Award sponsored by alliantgroup. The grand prize winner will be announced in May. The teachers are being honored with a video profile that highlights their inspiring work in the classroom.  

This award highlights HISD elementary science teachers who are using innovative teaching methods to spark student interest in science. The grand prize winner will receive a personal cash prize of $3,500, plus $500 for their classroom. The other five finalists will each receive $1,300 for themselves and $500 to spend on their classrooms.

The winners represent educators who exemplify exceptional science/STEM teaching and learning in a virtual world, participate in on-going professional learning aligned to science/STEM educational trends, and build capacity with colleagues. Congratulations to all!

TeacherCampus Area
Mahrukh NaimPaige ESNorth
Rebecca MunnShadowbriar ESWest
Andrea JaimeRoosevelt ESNorth
Ildemaro Tabasco GonzalezNorthline ESNorth
Sara RodriguezShearn ESSouth
Whitnee BostonGregory-LincolnA180
Honorable Mention
Guillermo LacombaR. P. HarrisEast
Edlyn EnriquezPughNorth
Ronreance Thomas-StewartPetersenSouth
Pratigyan PurohitBenavidezWest

The alliantgroup Elementary Science Teacher Award was created to reward HISD teachers who are increasing student achievement and engagement through innovative lesson plans that emphasize both the important and fun aspects of science. The award is just one of many alliantgroup initiatives to promote the importance of STEM education. For more information on the 2021 Elementary Science Teacher Award, as well as alliantgroup’s other education initiatives, please visit

Comments are closed.