Skip to content

Two HISD teachers vie for inaugural Music Educator Award

2013 May 30
by HISD Communications

Mark Wurtzel

A mind for music has led two HISD teachers into contention for a prestigious new national award for educators.

Lamar High School’s Scott Houston and Pershing Middle School’s Mark Wurtzel are two of the 217 music teachers from across the country to be named quarterfinalists for the inaugural Music Educator Award.

 You can read the whole story here.

Congratulations also go out this week to:

  • Director of Athletics Marmion Dambrino, who was recently named the 2013 Woman of the Year by the Houston Coaches’ Association. Other honorees at the May 28 banquet included: Men of the Year: Greg Wise (Yates HS) and Tom Nolen (Lamar HS), and Hall of Honor inductees: Chuck Arnold (Davis HS), Eddie Cerf (Fleming MS),  Cheryl Byrd-Williams (Westside HS), and Anthony Zuccarini (Waltrip HS).
If you know someone who should be featured in Accolades, please email us at and tell us why.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS