Skip to content

Stevens ES teacher receives the 2019 Elementary Science Teacher Award

2019 April 24
by HISD Communications

The Elementary Curriculum and Development Department celebrated Science Teacher Dierdre Ricketts of Steven Elementary as the winner of the 2019 Elementary Science Teacher award, sponsored by alliantgroup on Tuesday.

Earlier this month, the department announced the below six finalists for the inaugural award, whom were selected by a committee of school office and curriculum leaders, teacher development specialists, strategic partnerships, and university partners.

Achieve 180Deirdre Ricketts, Steven ES
SouthCrystal Williams, Hartsfield ES
NorthSara Rodriguez, Shearn ES
NorthwestDenise Conway, Helms ES
WestAnthony Jones, TH Rogers School
EastMinerva Perez, Burnet ES

The district announced the award in December 2018, which was created by alliantgroup’s BLUE HEART fund as an effort to support the district’s goal to increase student achievement and recognize the district’s most outstanding elementary science teachers.

Ricketts will receive a $3,500 cash prize coupled with $500 for classroom materials and supplies, while the other five fianlists will receive a $1,250 cash prize each, as well as $500 for classroom material and supplies.

All finalists will also go on to be recognized a media profile, featured on Houston Life, to highlight their inspiring work in the classroom. The Houston Life segments will air starting April 25.

Comments are closed.