HISD Names Top School Leaders for 2012

Reagan High School Principal Connie Berger was one of three campus leaders to be recognized as a 2012 Principal of the Year in HISD. Berger won at the high-school level.

On Wednesday, May 2, HISD recognized more than five dozen school administrators for their outstanding contributions to the district and their school communities by saluting them as nominees for Principal of the Year, First Year Principal of the Year, or Assistant Principal of the Year.

 The administrators were nominated by colleagues, teachers, and students for their instructional leadership and efforts to boost student achievement.

 Here are the 2012 honorees: 


  • Principal of the Year: Elena Martinez-Buley, Rodriguez ES
  • First Year Principal of the Year: Roshanda Griffin, Whidby ES
  • Assistant Principal of the Year: Terrence Sanders, Walnut Bend ES


  • Principal of the Year: Noelia Longoria, Ortiz MS
  • First Year Principal of the Year: Corey Seymour, McWilliams MS
  • Assistant Principal of the Year: Geovanny Ponce, Hartman MS


  •  Principal of the Year: Connie Berger, Reagan HS
  • First Year Principal of the Year: Jason Catchings, Scarborough HS
  • Assistant Principal of the Year: Lori Lambropoulos, Westside HS

 Superintendent of Schools Terry B. Grier congratulated the administrators during a ceremony at the monthly principals’ meeting. “Any one of you could have been the recipient of these awards,” he said. “That’s just the kind of talented staff we have.”

 Dr. Grier also presented “Team HISD” hats to two other principals—Charles Faust (Fondren MS) and Laquetta Kennedy (Cook ES), for their exemplary efforts to meet students’ needs at their campuses.