HISD PD honors personnel during 17th Annual Awards Luncheon

About 200 officers and personnel of the Houston Independent School District Police Department gathered at Thompson Elementary School on Friday to honor outstanding employees during their 17th Annual Awards Luncheon.

[photoshelter-gallery g_id=”G0000iNAodDLzh6M” g_name=”2014-PD-Awards” width=”600″ f_fullscreen=”t” bgtrans=”t” pho_credit=”iptc” twoup=”f” f_bbar=”t” f_bbarbig=”f” fsvis=”f” f_show_caption=”t” crop=”f” f_enable_embed_btn=”t” f_htmllinks=”t” f_l=”t” f_send_to_friend_btn=”f” f_show_slidenum=”t” f_topbar=”f” f_show_watermark=”t” img_title=”casc” linkdest=”c” trans=”xfade” target=”_self” tbs=”5000″ f_link=”t” f_smooth=”f” f_mtrx=”t” f_ap=”t” f_up=”f” height=”400″ btype=”old” bcolor=”#CCCCCC” ]

Each year, HISD PD hosts the ceremony to recognize members of the department committed to outstanding customer service throughout the district and local community. HISD Chief of Police Robert Mock told the audience during the ceremony he appreciated the effort and contribution of every employee during the 2013-2014 school year.

“Thank you for being selfless instead of selfish, for making our schools safer and providing service excellence,” Mock said.

The department is the only accredited public school district police department in the nation, awarded by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA). During the 2013-2014 school year, HISD PD achieved a reduction in overall crime by more than 20 percent.

Retired Senior Warden of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice Dessie McCoy-Cherry delivered the keynote address. McCoy-Cherry made history as one of the first female and African-American correctional officer within the TDCJ.

Mock continued to thank his personnel during the event for their commitment to the safety and security of students, staff and parents.

“My job is to serve each of you and to help you get the tools you need to do the job to serve our customers,” said Mock. “I appreciate all of you.”

This year’s recipients include:

  • Crossing Guard of the Year: Raul Valdez
  • Support Bureau Employee of the Year: Marcus McCauther
  • Business Operations Employee of the Year: Cynthia Smith
  • Operations Bureau Campus/Patrol Employee of the Year: Officer Willie Demby
  • Life Saving Award: Borita Williams, Carolyn Ellis and Officer Willie Demby
  • Unit Citation of the Year: Power Shift/Elementary Rover
  • Supervisor of the Year: Sergeant Aloysius Cook