13 candidates file to run for HISD school board

Thirteen candidates will vie this fall for a spot on the Houston Independent School District Board of Education.

Monday marked the last day candidates could file for election and be included on the ballot. The election is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 3. Early voting will run from Monday, Oct. 19 to Friday, Oct. 30. Winners will serve a four-year term that starts in January 2016.

The four seats expiring at the end of the year are Districts II, III, IV and VIII. Candidates for these seats include:

Trustee District II

Rhonda Skillern-Jones (Incumbent)

Dr. Youlette Jayne “Baby Jane” McCullough

Darlene “Koffey” Smith

Larry Williams

Trustee District III

Manuel Rodriguez (Incumbent)

Ramiro Fonseca

Jose Leal

Trustee District IV

Davetta Daniels

Jolanda Jones

Dr. Ann McCoy

Larry McKinzie

Trustee District VIII

Juliet Stipeche (Incumbent)

Diana Davila

For more information about the HISD Board of Education election, go online to www.houstonisd.org/board.