Thirty-two schools advance to the next round of Read to the Final Four

[photoshelter-gallery g_id=”G0000SvID8MOgUkw” g_name=”20151111-NCAA” width=”600″ f_fullscreen=”t” bgtrans=”t” pho_credit=”iptc” twoup=”f” f_bbar=”t” f_bbarbig=”f” fsvis=”f” f_show_caption=”t” crop=”f” f_enable_embed_btn=”t” f_htmllinks=”t” f_l=”t” f_send_to_friend_btn=”f” f_show_slidenum=”t” f_topbar=”f” f_show_watermark=”t” img_title=”casc” linkdest=”c” trans=”xfade” target=”_self” tbs=”5000″ f_link=”t” f_smooth=”f” f_mtrx=”t” f_ap=”t” f_up=”f” height=”400″ btype=”old” bcolor=”#CCCCCC” ]

Celebratory pep rally gives special shout out to top five

In a fun-filled ceremony at the Hattie Mae White Educational Support Center, a crowd gathered (and some watched live, online) to hear the announcement of the 32 schools who will advance to the next round of the NCAA Read to the Final Four Literacy Challenge.

The competition was created by the district in partnership with the Houston NCAA Final Four Local Organizing Committee, Houston Public Library, and the University of Houston. Houston will host the 2016 NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four April 2–4 at NRG Stadium. Thus far, elementary school students in the literacy challenge have reported 1,141,283 minutes of total reading time.

Third-grade student representatives and their teachers were on hand to accept recognition from KHOU-TV Channel 11’s sports anchor Pablo Alsina and NCAA 2016 Senior Director of Community Relations Risa Hall.

The 32 schools advancing to the next round are (in no particular order):

* Anderson ES

* Barrick ES

* Blackshear ES

* Bonham ES

* Brookline ES

* Browning ES

* Carrillo ES

* Codwell ES

* Cook ES

* Dogan ES

* Elmore ES

* Fondren ES

* Garden Villas ES

* Highland Heights ES

* Hobby ES

* Janowski ES

* Kennedy ES

* Lewis ES

* Looscan ES

* Marshall ES

* C. Martinez ES

* Montgomery ES

* Patterson ES

* Petersen ES

* Piney Point ES

* Port Houston ES

* Scarborough ES

* Smith ES

* Tijerina ES

* Tinsley ES

* Walnut Bend ES

* Young ES

Special recognition was also given to the five elementary schools with the largest amount of time students spent reading. They are (in descending order): Marshall, Fondren, Dogan, Browning, and Carrillo.

Related slideshow: Carrillo students learn they topped the list of the most time reading.

2 thoughts on “Thirty-two schools advance to the next round of Read to the Final Four

Comments are closed.