Baylor College of Medicine Academy at Ryan named National Magnet School of Excellence

Baylor College of Medicine Academy at Ryan has been named a National Magnet School of Excellence by Magnet Schools of America, the national association for magnet and theme-based schools.

“We are very excited to receive the Magnet School of Excellence Award,” said the school’s principal, Dr. Jyoti Malhan. “Every day, I see our faculty, staff and Baylor College of Medicine collaborators going above and beyond for our students, stepping in for coworkers, and making sure that our campus operation is seamless, and instruction is uninterrupted. I am fortunate to work with Team Awesome.”

The mission of Baylor College of Medicine Academy at Ryan (BCMAR) is to prepare students from diverse backgrounds for rigorous high school programs, college and careers through an innovative, accelerated health science program. The school’s three mandatory health science courses – Neuroscience, Scientific Decision Making, and Foundations in Biotechnology and Bioengineering – combined with its cross-curricular integration, enables students to learn through a unified theme, creating a path for contextualized and inquiry-based learning.

Principal Malhan will be recognized and receive a National Magnet School of Excellence Merit Award on behalf of the school during an awards ceremony at Magnet Schools of America’s 35th National Conference, hosted by Los Angeles Unified School District in Los Angeles, April 26-30.

To receive a national merit award, members of Magnet Schools of America must submit a detailed application, which is scored by a panel of educators. Applicant schools are judged and scored on their demonstrated ability to raise student academic achievement, promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and instruction, and create strong family and community partnerships that enhance each school’s magnet theme.

To learn more about the national merit awards program, please visit