Six HISD Board of Education positions up for election on Nov. 7

Six Houston Independent School District Board of Education seats are on the ballot in the general election coming up on Nov. 7, 2017, and three incumbents have filed for re-election.

District I: Gretchen HimslMonica Richart, and Elizabeth Santos have filed for the seat currently filled by Anna Eastman.

District III: The seat is up for special election to fill an unexpired term following the death of Manuel Rodríguez Jr. Sergio LiraCarlos PerrettRodolfo Reyes, and Jesse Rodriguez filed for the two-year position.

District V: Kara DeRochaSean ChebenSue Deigaard, and Susan Shafer have filed for the seat currently filled by Mike Lunceford.

District VI: Incumbent Holly Maria Flynn Vilaseca, Daniel Albert, and Robert Lundin have filed for the seat.

District VII: Incumbent Anne Sung and John Luman have filed for the seat.

District IX: Incumbent Wanda Adams, Karla Brown, and Gerry Monroe have filed for the seat.

Trustee district boundaries

To cast a ballot in the election, citizens have to register to vote by Oct. 10, 2017. Early voting begins on Oct. 23. Find ballot and polling location information here.

See complete information on candidate filings here.

Candidates had a filing deadline of Aug. 21, 2017. They had to be at least 18 years old, a registered voter, a resident of the state for at least 12 months, and a resident of the district in which they are running for at least six months. HISD consists of nine board members elected by district to staggered four-year terms.