Runoff election determines District I, District III Board of Education seats

Elizabeth Santos and Sergio Lira were elected to the Houston Independent School District Board of Education on Saturday, according to unofficial results reported by the Harris County Clerk’s Office.

Elizabeth Santos

Santos defeated Gretchen Himsl to win the District I seat being vacated by Anna Eastman, and Lira defeated Jesse Rodriguez for the District III seat. The results will be official once they are canvassed by the Board.

Santos is a product of HISD, attending Janowski and Herrera elementary schools, Burbank Middle School, and Sam Houston Math, Science and Technology Center. She’s a UH-Downtown grad and has spent the last 10 years as a teacher in HISD.

“As a graduate of Herrera, Burbank, Sam Houston, a volunteer and a 10-year veteran teacher in the schools where my family and I graduated, and now an HISD School Board trustee, my heart has always been with our children and with the community,” Santos said. “I am grateful for the relationships and driving force behind our campaign — our District I community.”

Lira is an assistant principal at Bellaire High School. He’s a graduate of the University of St. Thomas and UH-Clear Lake, and completed his doctorate in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at the University of Houston in 2015.

Sergio Lira

“I would like to thank all of my supporters, volunteers and HISD,” said Lira. “I look forward to working with Superintendent Carranza and the school board to ensure that we provide adequate resources to District III. We will work together as a team to do what is right for all students.”

Santos and Lira will be sworn in during the first 2018 Board of Education meeting on January 18 at 5 p.m. in the Manuel Rodríguez Board Auditorium at the Hattie Mae White Educational Support Center, 4400 W. 18th St. Lira will fill the unexpired term of the late District III Trustee Manuel Rodríguez Jr., which runs through 2019.

The HISD Board of Education is made up of nine trustees, each of whom serves a four-year term.

Click here to see a map of HISD trustee districts.