Eight seniors awarded $10,000 STEM scholarships

Eight HISD seniors each were awarded a $10,000 college scholarship through the Women’s Energy Network Houston’s Young Women Energized Partnership.

The scholarships are awarded to exemplary high school senior girls from the greater Houston area with exemplary academic records and who have demonstrated leadership potential throughout their high school career.

The winners will be honored at the Women Energized Network Houston’s virtual 2020 Young Women Energized event, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 7. The program will feature breakout sessions on careers in STEM, scholarships, and will be headlined by keynote speaker and BEACON ocean energy probe inventor, Hannah Herbst.

The eight winners are:

Name High School
Yanelly Munoz East Early College High School
Karrison Ibe Young Women’s College Preparatory Academy
Clarisse Forro Young Women’s College Preparatory Academy
Diana Zamarippa Energy Institute High School
Sophia Haskin Bellaire High School
Ashley-Ngoc Nguyen Lamar High School
Veronica Mendoza Eastwood Academy High School
Aaliyah McAfee Energy Institute High School

The YWN event is open to all HISD students and staff. The full program, speakers, resources, and registration for this year’s event can be found online here. For more information about Young Women’s Network, visit www.ywehouston.com.

[su_document url=”https://blogs.houstonisd.org/news/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2020/11/YWE-SisterSTEM-2020-registration.pdf” height=”840″]