Skip to content

Group of HISD educators wins Wayne Williams Library Project of the Year Award

2015 April 16
by HISD Communications

A group of educators from HISD, including three librarians—Jo Reed (Scroggins ES), Cheryl Hensley (MacGregor ES), and Sue Carnes (Bell ES; now retired)—was recognized recently with the Wayne Williams Library Project of the Year Award for 2015 by the Texas Library Association.

The group was selected for coordinating schoolwide reading campaigns at their respective campuses based on the Lunch Lady series of graphic novels by Jarrett J. Krosoczka. The project not only built on students’ enthusiasm for graphic novels, but also increased their awareness of health and nutrition through a cleverly organized partnership with HISD Nutrition Services Dietician Jennifer Lengyel that connected daily meal offerings to literature. Read the full story here.

Congratulations also go out this week to:

  • HISD’s Nutrition Services Department, which was presented with the No Kid Hungry Breakfast Champion Award, sponsored by Share Our Strength, during a pep rally event on April 8 at Marshall Middle School. The department provides the First Class Breakfast program, offered in more than 240 locations districtwide. Get the full story here.
  • Demetria Price, who became the newest member of HISD’s Police Department during a swearing-in ceremony on April 13. The HISD Police Department is the only accredited public school district police department in the nation.
  • Bruce Elementary School, which was one of nine schools from across the country to receive a $50,000 grant from the Leonore Annenberg School Fund for Children, an organization that provides educational resources to underfunded schools in urban and rural communities. Get that full story here.
  • Students from Reagan High School, Davis High School, and Lovett Elementary School, who all won prizes for their entries into the 2015 Art Car Parade. Read that story here.
  • Robert Edmond, a sixth-grader at Johnston Middle School, who has been named the second “Reader Leader” by myON for logging the most time spent reading on that website during a particular month. Read his story here.
  • Shermya Parkere, a seventh-grader at Burbank Middle School, who is one of one two middle-school students in the State of Texas to win a Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented (TAGT) scholarship to attend the Summer Mathematics Institute (SMI). Get her story here.
  • Winners of the annual Name That Book competition, which challenges students to identify passages read aloud from more than 30 books to correctly identify the titles and authors. You can see a list of all the winners here.
If you know someone who should be featured in Accolades, please email us at and tell us why.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS