Teachers of the Year will be announced during recognition ceremony

The Houston Independent School District will announce the 2011-2012 Teachers of the Year tonight during a Celebration of Excellence recognition ceremony. The winners will receive $5,000, a plaque, and a custom made ring from Herff Jones Graduation Center. The Principals of the Year and the Employees of the Month will also be recognized.  View live coverage of the event at houstonisd.org

Who:  HISD Board of Education Trustees, Superintendent Terry Grier,2011-2012 Principals of the Year, Employees

of the Month, Elementary Teacher of the Year Nominees for 2011-2012:

  • Ashley Moteil – Lyons Elementary School
  • Ana Lentz – Pilgrim Academy
  • Nanette Musters – Mark Twain Elementary School
  • Selene Rogers – Windsor Village Elementary School
  • Maria Godoy – Port Houston Elementary School
  • Lindsey MacLeod – Oak Forest Elementary School
  • Benjamin Glover – Gallegos Elementary School
  • Susan (Kim) O’Reilly – Roberts Elementary School
  • Alaster Gaines – Crawford-Sherman Elementary School
  • Cecily Stevens – The School at St. George Place
  • Martha Garcia – Herrera Elementary School
  • Ernie Bainbridge – Walnut Bend Elementary School

Secondary Teacher of the Year Nominees for 2011-2012:

  • Timothy Daponte – Reagan High School
  • Qian Zhang – DeBakey High School
  • Tarhonda Greer – Jones High School
  • Modesto Mendoza – Devry/CLC
  • Mildred Williams – Hope Academy
  • Margarita Castro – Madison High School
  • Darryl Tricksey – Fondren Middle School
  • Brian Gaston – Hogg Middle School
  • Neda Khan – Black Middle School
  • Camula Stanfield – Pershing Middle School


What: Team HISD Celebration of Excellence recognition ceremony honoring 2011-2012 Teachers of the Year, Principals of the Year, and Employees of the Month

When: Thursday, May 24 at 6:45 p.m.

 Where: Hilton Americas Hotel
                  Ballrooms of America
 1600 Lamar Street