Vote in second round of ‘Fan Favorite’ Teacher of the Year

Two winners to be announced at May 19 Educators of the Year banquet

Over the past week, HISD staff, students, and alumni voted more than 105,000 times for their “Fan Favorite” Teacher of the Year. Voters could choose from any of the campus-based Teacher of the Year nominees. The votes are now tallied, and the top four elementary and secondary teachers are moving on to round two. The finalists are:


  • Brittanee Horn from Cook Elementary
  • Jorge Gonzalez Perez from DeAnda Elementary
  • Betty Orta from Burnet Elementary
  • Jeanitra Proctor from Hobby Elementary


  • Devin Adams from Welch Middle School
  • Caryn Burkholder from Hamilton Middle School
  • Kristin Foster from Attucks Middle School
  • Mallory Williams from Fleming Middle School

Click the button below to vote for your Fan Favorite elementary and secondary teacher from among the finalists.

[su_button url=”” target=”blank” style=”stroked” background=”#C95F2B” size=”7″ radius=”0″]Click Here to Vote[/su_button]

Voting ends at 11:59 p.m., on Wednesday, May 17.

The winners, along with the district’s elementary and secondary teachers of the year, will be announced on Friday, May 19, at the Educators of the Year banquet at Bayou City Event Center.