Class of 2018 valedictorians, salutatorians to be honored at Scholars Banquet 

The Houston Independent School District will pay tribute to each high school’s valedictorian and salutatorian during its annual Scholars Banquet on Wednesday evening.

Every spring, HISD honors the top two scholars at each of its high schools with a formal celebration of the accomplishment of finishing first or second in their class academic rankings. During the banquet, each valedictorian and salutatorian is presented with a medallion in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements.

The 2018 Scholars Banquet will be held at 6 p.m. Wednesday, April 18, 2018, at the Westin Galleria Hotel (5060 West Alabama St., Houston, 77056).

In addition to their outstanding academic achievements, this year’s 97 valedictorians and salutatorians have garnered more than $10 million year-to-date in scholarship and financial aid offers, which is portion of nearly $90 million total for the entire Class of 2018.

“I am honored to celebrate these students for their years of hard work, sweat – and sometimes tears,” Interim Superintendent Grenita Lathan said. “I’m proud of what they’ve accomplished, showing perseverance and commitment in their studies.”

Austin High School

Valedictorian: Luis Alonso Diaz Longoria

Salutatorian: Kayln Jerrica Greer

Bellaire High School

Valedictorian: Anna Chen Xu

Salutatorian: Yuanchen Yuan

Carnegie Vanguard High School

Valedictorian: Samuel Wei Chen Liu

Salutatorians: Rathi Priya Anandu and Kartik Devashish

Challenge Early College High School

Valedictorian: Layla Angel Shawareb

Salutatorian: Dustin Fernando Acosta

Chávez High School

Valedictorian: Gilberto Manuel Guadiana

Salutatorians: Gabriela Ortega

DeBakey High School for Health Professions

Valedictorian: Nikita Yashodhan Gidh

Salutatorians: Vijay Nitturi

East Early College High School

Valedictorian: Elescia Magan Martinez

Salutatorian: Diana Hernandez

Eastwood Academy

Valedictorian: Angie Estrada

Salutatorians: Reyna Yanez

Energy Institute High School

Valedictorian: Trisha Litong

Salutatorian: Christian Kelly

Energized for E-STEM Central High School

Valedictorian: Zanta’ja Hines

Salutatorian: Katelynn Tinsley

Energized for E-STEM West High School

Valedictorians: Yuri Aguilar and Joshua Joel Rochez

Furr High School

Valedictorian: Madie Elizabeth Ann Welch

Salutatorian: Ernesto Enrique Salazar Yanez

Heights High School

Valedictorian: Fatima Elizabeth Mendez-Martinez

Salutatorian: Franky Campuzano

High School for Law Enforcement & Criminal Justice

Valedictorian: Aizik Rangel

Salutatorian: Richard Lopez

High School for the Performing & Visual Arts

Valedictorian: Jonathan Jie Jalbert

Salutatorian: Sabrina Rei-ay Tan Koseki

Houston Academy for International Studies

Valedictorian: Ethan Patrick Fowler

Salutatorian: Kailyn Chenelle Hayes

Houston Math, Science, and Technology Center 

Valedictorian: Jose Manuel Perez

Salutatorian: Aracely Rojo

Jones Futures Academy 

Valedictorian: Maria Martinez

Salutatorian: Kaelin Powell

Jordan High School

Valedictorian: Deiondra Dondranique Shorts

Salutatorian: Arely Guadalupe Chavez

Kashmere High School

Valedictorian: Virnesis Antojanie Haywood

Salutatorian: Jaden Shalette Riley

Lamar High School

Valedictorian: Grace Qui Timm Nguyen

Salutatorian: Jiayuan Han

Mickey Leland College Preparatory Academy for Young Men

Valedictorian: Brandon Alonso

Salutatorian: Noe Garcia

Liberty High School

Valedictorian: Maria Jose Nerio Escamilla

Salutatorian: Priscilla Asiedu

Jane Long Academy

Valedictorian: Daniela Garcia

Salutatorian: Emily Montanez

Madison High School

Valedictorian: Jackselly Najera

Salutatorian: Reyna Mendoza

Middle College High School – HCC Fraga

Valedictorian: Felipe Cantu

Middle College High School – HCC Gulfton

Valedictorian: Shelby S. Koppenol

Salutatorian: Emanuel Segura

Milby High School

Valedictorian: Francisco Javier Munoz Murillo

Salutatorian: Eddie Ramos

Mount Carmel Academy

Valedictorian: Jeyci Torres Medina

Salutatorians: Jennifer Sanchez

North Forest High School

Valedictorian: Kyla Ayanna Carey-Cato

Salutatorian: Jeriah Tashee Taylor

North Houston Early College High School

Valedictorian: Vanessa Janeth Palomares

Salutatorian: Morgan Elizabeth Jackson

Northside High School

Valedictorian: Judith Martinez

Salutatorian: Jacqueline Hernandez

Scarborough High School

Valedictorian: Adriana Pena

Salutatorian: Alondra Garcia

Sharpstown High School

Valedictorian: Genesis Rebeca Santos

Salutatorian: Karl Martin Schrader

Sharpstown International School

Valedictorian: Gede Andrei Mejia

Salutatorian: Cindy Nguyen

South Early College High School

Valedictorian: Brittney Kiana Scott

Salutatorian: Sifa Bianca Opot

Sterling Aviation High School

Valedictorian: Jennifer Guzman

Salutatorian: Sarai Gomez

Texas Connections Academy Houston

Valedictorian: Cole Randall Glasson

Salutatorian: Muhammad Kazim Jamal

Victory Preparatory Academy-South

Valedictorian: Kenia Melgar

Salutatorian: Thuyen Truong

Waltrip High School

Valedictorian: Juan Antonio Garcia

Salutatorian: Veronica Anahi Garcia

Washington High School

Valedictorian: Kenya Chyana Davis

Salutatorian: Katheryn Renea Harrell

Westbury High School

Valedictorian: Angel Alfredo Alanis

Salutatorian: Marertu Alemu Fetene

Westside High School

Valedictorian: Sydney Chase Willett

Salutatorians: Olivia Ann Grobowsky

Wheatley High School

Valedictorian: Sasha Renee Caruthers

Salutatorian: Claude Nhongore

Wisdom High School

Valedictorian: Claudia Wu

Salutatorian: Yzhbl Astrid Mae David

Worthing High School

Valedictorian: Mari Christine Davison

Salutatorian: Cay’ren Ale’nae Watson

Yates High School

Valedictorian: Jesus Alexander Lopez

Salutatorian: Gabrielle Nacole Braziel

Young Women’s College Preparatory Academy 

Valedictorian: Leah Alexis Lewis

Salutatorian: Jennifer Garcia