HISD announces 2018-19 Teacher of the Year finalists, Beginning Teacher of the Year winners 

Winners will be recognized on May 17 at the Educators of the Year banquet 

To celebrate teaching excellence across the district, HISD is saddling up to highlight the district’s principals and teachers at the “western-themed” Educators of the Year banquet on Friday, May 17, at the Hilton Americas Hotel.

Twelve finalists have been named for the Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year. The two winners, who will go on to represent the district in Region 4, will be announced during the Educators of the Year banquet on Friday, May 17. The 12 finalists were selected from all 287 campuses based on performance data and other criteria. 

At the elementary level, the six finalists are

  • Angelica Anders from Shadydale Elementary School 
  • Nazaret Chavez-Guerrero from Harris (Roland P.) Elementary School 
  • Renee Heine from Condit Elementary School 
  • Sara Harlan from Garden Oaks Montessori 
  • Shonda Jackson from MLK Early Childhood Center 
  • Brittani Rideaux from Dogan Elementary School 

At the secondary level, the six finalists are

  • Sarah Angers from Sugar Grove Middle School 
  • Maria Gloria Borsa from Bellaire High School 
  • Jose Vincent Clemente from Westbury High School 
  • Dulce Mancillas from Burbank Middle School 
  • Ray Pocquette from Furr High School 
  • Christopher Prince from Northside High School 

This year’s Beginning Teacher of the Year honors go to

  • Guadalupe Aguilera from Hamilton Middle School 
  • Brittany Connally from Lockhart Elementary School 
  • Edis Moreno from Lamar High School 

Other awards include

  • Librarian of Year, which goes to Mary Chance of Hogg Middle School 
  • Instructional Coaches of the Year, which will go to Rogelio Martinez (Districtwide Award) and Ambreen Ali of Meyerland Middle School (Campus-Based Award) 

The banquet is held annually to recognize the top teachers and principals for the school year. Additionally, the HISD community will have the opportunity beginning Monday, April 22 to vote on their “Fan Favorite” for teacher, who also will be announced at the banquet. 

In February, HISD announced the 2018-2019 Elementary and Secondary Principals of the Year, whom will also be recognized at the banquet and go on to represent the district as Region IV finalists.