Two ‘Fan Favorite’ teachers to be announced at May 17 Educators of the Year banquet

Vote now in Round 2 for elementary and secondary finalists

Over the past week, HISD staff, students, and alumni have voted for their “Fan Favorite” Teacher of the Year.

Voters could choose from any of the campus-based Teacher of the Year nominees. The votes are now tallied, and the top four elementary and secondary teachers are moving on to round two. The finalists are: 


  • Ana Orozco from Carillo Elementary 
  • Latasha Hurd from Frost Elementary 
  • Teresa Mendoza from DeChaume Elementary 
  • Kali Schiska from Sutton Elementary 


  • Kathie Jackson-Guillory from Fleming Middle School 
  • Jerisha Buntyn from West Briar Middle School 
  • Stella Cunningham from Scarborough High School 
  • Jose Clemente from Westbury High School 

Click the button below to vote for your Fan Favorite elementary and secondary teacher from among the finalists. 

Voting ends at 11:59 p.m., on Friday, May 3.  

The winners, along with the district’s elementary and secondary teachers of the year, will be announced on Friday, May 17, at the Educators of the Year banquet at The Hilton Americas.