Twelve additional HISD middle schools join Verizon Innovative Learning Schools program

Twelve Houston Independent School District middle schools are among the latest campuses to be selected for participation in the Verizon Innovative Learning Schools program, which addresses barriers to digital inclusion.

In addition to free mobile devices and data plans, participating schools will be assigned a full-time coach to train teachers in effectively integrating technology into their lessons.

Verizon’s education initiative is in partnership with Digital Promise, a national nonprofit organization that seeks to spur innovation in education.

“Verizon’s program is a wonderful parallel provision to the district having supplied our students with devices and hotspots to facilitate virtual and in-person learning since the pandemic began,” HISD Interim Superintendent Grenita Lathan said. “Our students must remain digitally connected long after the pandemic is over in order to maximize their 21st century learning experience.”

HISD schools that are joining the Verizon Innovative Learning Schools program for the 2021-2022 school year are:

  • Clifton Middle School
  • Fondren Middle School
  • Fonville Middle School
  • Forest Brook Middle School
  • Hamilton Middle School
  • Key Middle School
  • Lawson Middle School
  • Marshall Middle School
  • Meyerland Performing & Visual Arts Middle School
  • Navarro Middle School
  • Ortiz Middle School
  • Revere Middle School

Six HISD middle schools — Edison, Fleming, Hartman, Henry, Holland and Tanglewood middle schools—were accepted into the Verizon Innovative Learning Schools program in spring 2020.