HISD seniors honored with scholarships at Superintendent Scholars Luncheon

As another school year draws to a close, HISD seniors are not only preparing for exams, prom and graduation, but for the vast and unknowable world that awaits them after high school. In acknowledgement of the bright and exciting futures that await them, HISD granted the Superintendent Scholars Award to an outstanding senior from each high school, and bestowed an additional honor to the Superintendent’s hand-picked top 10.

The seventh annual Superintendent Scholars Awards kicked off with a luncheon for the students and their nominators, either their principals or a designee from their campus. Students were nominated for exhibiting great strength and character in the face of personal adversity.

“Not every student is perfect or has a perfect journey,” said Lynnetra Johnson, Coordinator 2 with HISD’s College, Career and Military Readiness Advising Department. “I believe that we have to acknowledge those that have actually struggled, and still persevered throughout their high school years. This is one way that we can push them forward and show them that we are very proud of the accomplishments that they have made.”

Each senior nominated received a $1,000 scholarship to jumpstart their post-secondary ambitions, and the top 10 were awarded $1,500 and a new laptop.

“This award is important because it shows how much kids have been through and how they’re still here, striving, working, putting school first,” said senior Alberto “Beto” Ramirez. Ramirez, a reportedly well-loved fixture and top-notch student at Waltrip High School, credits his drive and resilience to enduring the recent loss of his father. “It really motivated me to keep going,” he said.

The Top 10 Superintendent Scholars Award winners are:

Linh Le
Westbury High School

Munachi Muoghalu
Sharpstown International High School

Yunior Robles Mesa
Liberty High School

Abigail Matthews
Heights High School

Kavien Bertrand
High School for Law and Justice

Jonathan Vasquez
Carnegie Vanguard High School

Alberto Ramirez
Waltrip High School

Brielle Grant
North Forest High School

Christian Rogers
Sterling High School

Taylor Spiller
Energy Institute High School

The remaining Superintendent Scholar Award winners are:

Ja’Kya Wilson, Julissa Reyes, Kaylin Truong, Emily Ponce, Lyric McCoy, Lydia Elias, Heliodoro Martinez, A’Treiel Berry, Isaiah Deleon, Megan Aguas, Edwin Lara Bonilla, Za’nya Simpson, Dulce Dominguez Guzman, Adriana Garcia, Camerson McCullogh, Meg Routh, Athitiya Singhapan, Jarius Mattox, Thandi Jackson, Charles Wooten, Kiara Warfield, Isabella Hartman, Adrian Camacho, Bryan Artuega, Destiny Goodall, Natayla Tovar, Caely Jackson, Karissa Avila, Ni’Sheya Davis, Ry’Anna Stewart, Katherine Rebollar, Ravyn Bright, Hoang Thach, Jeremiah Provost