Tag Archives: Principals of the Year

HISD names 2018-19 elementary, secondary Principals of the Year

There was a wave of celebrations on Wednesday morning as the district crowned its 2018-2019 elementary and secondary Principals of the Year.  

The first stop for a caravan filled with district leadership and staff was at Durham Elementary School, where campus administrators, teachers and students filled the cafeteria to surprise Principal Amy Poerschke as this year’s Elementary Principal of the Year. 

“When district leadership interviewed Principal Poerschke earlier this year, it was music to my ears to hear her passion and commitment to ensure all children at her campus and beyond received the absolute best in their education,” Interim Superintendent Grenita Lathan said.  

It wasn’t hard to keep a smile on everyone’s face as Poerschke was greeted by students offering cheers and high-fives as the third-year principal made her way through the crowd. 

Continue reading

HISD’s 2018 Principals of the Year are from Braeburn ES, Jones Futures Academy 

[photoshelter-gallery g_id=”G0000a8mDfuG4jgE” g_name=”20180301-2018-Principals-of-the-Year” width=”600″ f_fullscreen=”t” bgtrans=”t” pho_credit=”iptc” twoup=”f” f_bbar=”t” f_bbarbig=”f” fsvis=”f” f_show_caption=”t” crop=”f” f_enable_embed_btn=”t” f_htmllinks=”t” f_l=”t” f_send_to_friend_btn=”f” f_show_slidenum=”t” f_topbar=”f” f_show_watermark=”t” img_title=”casc” linkdest=”c” trans=”xfade” target=”_self” tbs=”5000″ f_link=”t” f_smooth=”f” f_mtrx=”t” f_ap=”t” f_up=”f” height=”400″ btype=”old” bcolor=”#CCCCCC” ]

It was a day full of surprises on Thursday as Superintendent Richard Carranza, Chief Academic Officer Grenita Lathan and school board members, made their rounds to name the district’s 2018 Principals of the Year at Braeburn Elementary School and Jones Futures Academy.

Braeburn Elementary School Principal Santos Reyes was crowned as HISD’s Elementary Principal of the year, while Jones Futures Academy Principal Geovanny Ponce was named HISD’s Secondary Principal of the Year.    Continue reading