Reagan’s Dixon Named Finalist for Touchdown Club Coach of the Year

Led Bulldogs to First District Title in 54 Years

In his fifth season with Reagan HS, Coach Stephen Dixon led the Bulldogs to 10 wins and their first district title in 54 years. He’s a finalist for the Touchdown Club’s Coach of the Year award for his achievements. (Photo by Michael Sudhalter/The Leader News)

Stephen Dixon, who led the Reagan Bulldogs to their first district football title in 54 years, has been named one of 10 finalists in the Touchdown Club’s Houston-area Coach of the Year race.

Dixon has coached at Reagan for four seasons, steadily building his team into a contender that won 10 games in its historic run this season and made it to the second round of the UIL Class 4A playoffs.

The award will be announced Dec. 11 at the club’s annual High School Awards Night at the J.W. Marriott Hotel in the Galleria area.

Other nominees include Eliot Allen from Stratford HS, David Aymond, North Shore;  Gary Joseph, Katy HS; Corby Meekins, Westfield; Ed Pustejovsky, Cy-Fair; Mark Schmid, The Woodlands; Leland Surovik,Texas City; Rick Tullos, George Ranch; and Eric Wells, Dawson.

“This is totally unbelievable,” a stunned Dixon said Monday upon receiving the news. “What a great honor to even be mentioned with some of these guys. I hope I win it for HISD.”

The Touchdown Club is the Houston chapter of the National Football Foundation, which has 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide. The organization promotes programs that encourage use of amateur football to develop scholarship, citizenship and academic achievement in young people and annually honors coaches and players who exemplify those ideals.