HISD Police Department welcomes new assistant chief and 11 officers   

[photoshelter-gallery g_id=”G0000GIRs82Vj3uA” g_name=”HISD-Police-Swear-In” width=”600″ f_fullscreen=”t” bgtrans=”t” pho_credit=”iptc” twoup=”f” f_bbar=”t” f_bbarbig=”f” fsvis=”f” f_show_caption=”t” crop=”f” f_enable_embed_btn=”t” f_htmllinks=”t” f_l=”t” f_send_to_friend_btn=”f” f_show_slidenum=”t” f_topbar=”f” f_show_watermark=”t” img_title=”casc” linkdest=”c” trans=”xfade” target=”_self” tbs=”5000″ f_link=”t” f_smooth=”f” f_mtrx=”t” f_ap=”t” f_up=”f” height=”400″ btype=”old” bcolor=”#CCCCCC” ]

Wearing sharp black uniforms adorned with embroidered patches, newly appointed Assistant Chief Paul Cordova and 11 new officers filed into the Thomas Middle School gym on Monday ready to be sworn in as the district’s newest law enforcement officers.

Family, friends, and colleagues cheered as each officer had a shiny silver badge pinned to their uniform.

“Today is a momentous occasion,” HISD Police Chief Robert Mock said, noting that the badges conveyed great responsibility. “This a day you are given great trust, a day to become a leader.”

With Monday’s swearing-in ceremony being the largest to date, the HISD Police Department now boasts of 216 officers. It is the only accredited public school district police department in the nation, responding to more than 81,380 calls per year across 300 square miles. 

HISD Board of Education Trustee Diana Davila attended the ceremony and commended the incoming officers for accepting the challenge to work within the district.

“You couldn’t have picked a better place to work,” Davila said. “When you join HISD, you really join a family.”

As the ceremony concluded, officers had the opportunity to provide their own remarks about what the day meant to them. Assistant Chief Cordova recognized his family for their support and thanked Chief Mock for the opportunity.

“I’ll make you proud,” Cordova said.

In addition to Cordova, 11 other officers were sworn in on Monday. They are Juan Aguirre Jr, John Barrett, Nayelli Casas, Aldridge Gibson, Daniel Hageman, Marvin Hayes, Jonathan Love, Christopher McIntosh, Tracy Nelson, Sergio Pena, and Mark Porter.