Vote in second round of ‘Fan Favorite’ Teacher of the Year

Two winners to be announced at May 18 Educators of the Year banquet

Over the past week, HISD staff, students, and alumni have voted for their “Fan Favorite” Teacher of the Year. Voters could choose from any of the campus-based Teacher of the Year nominees. The votes are now tallied, and the top four elementary and secondary teachers are moving on to round two. The finalists are:


  • Eduardo Duclos Dieguez from Fondren Elementary
  • Ratessalyn Ferguson from Thompson Elementary
  • Elena Grimalt Ortiz from Rucker Elementary
  • Alyssa Cuevas from Rodriguez Elementary


  • Tiffaney Crawford from Fleming Middle School
  • Alejandra Ortega from McReynolds Middle School
  • Jamie Scott from Carnegie High School
  • Rafeeq Anwar Mohammad from Furr High School

Click the button below to vote for your Fan Favorite elementary and secondary teacher from among the finalists.

[su_button url=”” target=”blank” style=”stroked” background=”#C95F2B” size=”7″ radius=”0″]Click Here[/su_button]

Voting ends at 11:59 p.m., on Friday, May 4.

The winners, along with the district’s elementary and secondary teachers of the year, will be announced on Friday, May 18, at the Educators of the Year banquet at The Hilton Americas.