Sports legends inducted into HISD Hall of Honor

Walk into the entrance of Delmar-Tusa Athletic Complex, and you might notice a new addition: a wall emblazoned with a list of former HISD athletes, legends in their sports.

The list—populated by greats such as Vince Young, Nancy Richey, Monica Lamb, and Greg Swindell—is the inaugural class of the HISD Athletic Hall of Honor. A project spearheaded by Athletic Director Andre Walker and the Hall of Honor Executive Committee, the Class of 2021 consists of 16 individuals and one team.

The inductees were honored at an event on Saturday, attended by all but one of the living honorees, as well as Superintendent Millard House II and Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee.

Speaking to the crowd, House reminded attendees of the history of athleticism within the district.

“For decades, HISD has had a legacy of top-tier athletic talent, producing some of the biggest names in all kinds of sports—football, of course, as well as basketball, volleyball, track and field, baseball, tennis, and many more,” House said. “In fact, just last week, one of our own—Raevyn Rogers—scored a bronze medal in Tokyo at the Olympics, in the women’s 800-meter race. We may be honoring the past here today, but these athletes’ legacies continue on today and through tomorrow.”

The inaugural class of the HISD Athletic Hall of Honors includes:

  • Jackie Carr (Wheatley High School)
  • Ralph Cooper (Worthing High School)
  • Eldridge Dickey (Booker T. Washington High School)
  • Kat Espinosa (Bellaire High School)
  • Carlette Guidry-Falkquay (Sterling Aviation High School)
  • Darrell Green (Jones High School)
  • Dwight Jones (Wheatley High School)
  • Monica Lamb (Yate High School)
  • David Lattin (Worthing High School)
  • Craig Reynolds (Reagan High School)
  • Nancy Richey (Jeff Davis High School)
  • Ken Spain (Austin High School)
  • Greg Swindell (Sharpstown High School)
  • Joe Tusa (HISD Athletics)
  • Delvin Williams (Kashmere High School)
  • Vince Young (James Madison High School)
  • 1985 Jack Yates High School tootball team