School Board Recognition Month begins with HISD swearing in new, re-elected trustees

HISD swore in its two newest board members—Kendall Baker(District VI) and Bridget Wade (District VII) and its re-elected members in Elizabeth Santos (District I), Sue Deigaard (District V), and Myrna Guidry (District IX) —during School Board Recognition Month.

Baker and Wade join HISD Board President Patricia Allen (District IV), trustees  Santos (District I), Kathy Blueford-Daniels (District II), Dani Hernandez (District III), Deigaard (District V), Judith Cruz (District VIII), and Guidry (District IX). HISD also honored outgoing trustees Anne Sung and Holly Maria Flynn Vilaseca for their service.

To learn more about the new and re-elected trustees read their bios.

This year’s School Board Recognition Month (SBRM) theme is “Rising Above.” Staff can work with students to create certificates, notes, cards, and posters of appreciation thanking board members. Parents can encourage their PTA or PTO membership to pass a SBRM proclamation and present it to their trustee.

Visit the Texas Association of School Boards website for more ideas, sample certificates, educational materials, and graphics for SBRM.

For more information about HISD’s trustees, visit the Board of Education web page.