HISD honors Educators of the Year at annual banquet

Houston Independent School District honored the 2022-2023 Educators of the Year at its annual banquet on Friday, May 12, at Hilton Americas-Houston.

This year’s theme was “Legendary” and served to celebrate a legacy of educator excellence in an elegant roaring 20s style.

This year’s winners:

Teacher of the Year

  • Melodie Musgrove, Walnut Bend Elementary School
  • Sunita Moses, Energized for Excellence Academy

Principal of the Year

  • Amanda Wingard, Neff Elementary School
  • Keoshya Dunn, Lawson Middle School

Beginning Teacher of the Year

  • Biridiana Cruz, Jefferson Elementary School
  • Victoria Lawrence, Williams Middle School
  • Lauren Chapman, North Forest High School

Instructional Coach of the Year

  • Kevin Richard, Districtwide
  • Tanitra Blackshear, Isaacs Elementary School

Bilingual Teacher of the Year

  • Yessica Castillo,Cornelius Elementary School
  • Adam Meza, Burbank Middle School
  • Pratibha Parasher, Coop Elementary School

School Counselor of the Year

  • Talitha Pinkney, Lovett Elementary School
  • Donna Bolden, Meyerland PVA

Social Worker of the Year

  • Kolby Robinson, Woodson Leadership Academy

Library Program of the Year

  • Kaitlyn Carpenter, Bellaire High School

Nurse of the Year

  • Felicia Ivory, Fonwood Early Childhood Center

The full list of honorees and finalists can be found here.