HISD spotlights campus leaders for National Principals Month

Throughout October, HISD celebrated National Principals Month by recognizing its dedicated campus leaders through social media shout-outs, campus events, and featured videos.

This annual campaign puts the spotlight on the principals who guide and support our students, teachers, and staff every day. Principals are responsible for ensuring the effectiveness of teachers and the delivery of high-quality instruction in every classroom and developing connections to parents and the school community. Most importantly, they strive to solidify the greatest outcomes for our students.

At October’s principals meeting, HISD leaders presented the first round of Principals’ Awards to 12 recipients, with more awards to come each month.

“In Houston ISD, the principals work so incredibly hard,” said Sandi Massey, Chief of Leadership and Professional Development. “Every principal works hard everywhere, but here there was so much new learning that they had to do, a lot of new ideas and new implementation.”

Also new this school year is the creation of the four District Divisions: North, South, Central, and West. Take a look at these heartfelt messages from our Division Superintendents to their principals:

Orlando Riddick, North Division Superintendent
Imelda de la Guardia, South Division Superintendent
Dr. Luz Martinez, Central Division Superintendent
Dr. Laura Stout, West Division Superintendent

Several principals got to “takeover” the District’s social media channels for a day. In case you missed it, follow along with Principal Bettina McKinney at Highland Heights Elementary, Principal Stephanie Lugo at McGowen Elementary, Principal Dana Darden at Benbrook Elementary, and this viral moment from Principal Marie Adams at North Forest High School.

National Principals Month is a collaborative initiative between the American Federation of School Administrators (AFSA), the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP), and the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP). Learn more here.