Tag Archives: Honorary Spirit of Service

HISD Awards Top Food Services Staff and Recognizes Cafeterias of the Year

The Houston Independent School District presented numerous awards to recognize the hard work and excellence of the district’s Food Services Department and school cafeterias.

“Providing nutritious meals to more than 200,000 students throughout the school year and summer school takes hard work, and it’s important our employees know just how valuable they are to the district,” Superintendent Terry Grier said.  “We applaud their commitment to ensuring every student has access to a good, healthy meal at school.”          

Awards were given for the following categories: Spirit of Service Award, Honorary Spirit of Service, and Team Lead of the Year.

“We are truly proud of these employees.  The positive attitude and dedication they bring to work every day is truly exceptional,” said Brian Giles, Senior Administrator for Food Services.  “These annual awards serve as a means to let them know we recognize and thank them for their hard work and efforts.”

HISD also recognized the 2011-2012 Cafeterias of the Year based on their ability meet and exceed goals set by the department and provide excellent dining atmospheres, among other guidelines.

 HISD’s Food Services Department has almost 2,000 employees who service nearly 300 schools.  These employees are tasked with providing healthy, nutritious meals for all students, teachers and staff in the district.

 Below is list of awards presented:

Spirit of Service Award         

Kandy Simmons, Herrera Elementary School
Samantha Pearson, Cook Elementary School
Alicia Villalobos, Lantrip Elementary School
Patricia Strickland, Bonner Elementary School
Antionetta Means, Frost Elementary School
Robin Morris, Hobby Elementary School
Janet Vallair Perry, Lovett Elementary School
Maggie Hughes, T.H. Rogers
Veronica Means, Blackshear Elementary School
Gilda Canales, Oak Forest Elementary School
LaDeshia Ricks, Furr High School
Tammie Green, Chavez High School
Kimberly Wilson, Westbury High School
Chiquia White, Marshall Middle School
Ola Livingston, Energized STEM


Honorary Spirit of Service

Mark Allen, Operations Area Manager
Bridgette Chenier, Operations/SEA Associate

 Cafeteria of the Year

Lee High School
Hamilton Middle School
Herrera Elementary
Durham Elementary

 Team Lead of the Year

Lanquelyn Sumler, Reagan High School
Marylyn Williams, Hartman Middle School
Danielle Wiltz, Bastian Elementary School
Eliva Jimenez, Gregory Lincoln K-8