HISD Board of Education approves turnaround plans for schools in year two Improvement Required status

The Houston Independent School District Board of Education on Thursday approved turnaround plans for the campuses designated Year Two Improvement Required by the Texas Education Agency.

Schools with this designation have not met state standards for two years. These four campuses – Bonham Elementary School, Gregory-Lincoln Education Center (prekindergarten through grade 8), Madison High School, and Washington High School – are required to develop and submit a two-year plan to improve student outcomes.

The Board also accepted a donation of 200 cartons of Narcan nasal spray in response to the growing national trend of opioid abuse. The spray is used to treat known or suspected opioid overdose. The donation, valued at $72,000, is from Kaléo Pharma. HISD Police would be responsible for distributing the spray in the event of an overdose, whether it be a student or adult, on any of HISD’s 287 campuses.

[photoshelter-gallery g_id=”G0000zJ9AbXwxfqY” g_name=”20180118-BoardMeeting” width=”600″ f_fullscreen=”t” bgtrans=”t” pho_credit=”iptc” twoup=”f” f_bbar=”t” f_bbarbig=”f” fsvis=”f” f_show_caption=”t” crop=”f” f_enable_embed_btn=”t” f_htmllinks=”t” f_l=”t” f_send_to_friend_btn=”f” f_show_slidenum=”t” f_topbar=”f” f_show_watermark=”t” img_title=”casc” linkdest=”c” trans=”xfade” target=”_self” tbs=”5000″ f_link=”t” f_smooth=”f” f_mtrx=”t” f_ap=”t” f_up=”f” height=”400″ btype=”old” bcolor=”#CCCCCC” ]

The Board voted unanimously to name District II Trustee Rhonda Skillern-Jones president for 2018. Skillern-Jones, a product of HISD, was elected to the Board in 2011. She’s previously served as Board President, Secretary and First Vice-President.

Other Board of Education officers for 2018 are Jolanda Jones, First Vice President; Anne Sung, Second Vice President; Sergio Lira, Secretary; and Holly Maria Flynn Vilaseca, Assistant Secretary.