Ashford ES teacher wins Alliantgroup’s HISD Elementary Science Teacher grand prize

Ashford Elementary School fifth-grade Science Teacher Kirk Coppes has received the 2020 HISD Elementary Science Teacher Grand Prize Award from Alliantgroup.

Six finalists from across the district were nominated by HISD for the award based on their innovative teaching methods and ability to ignite the interest of students in the subject of science. The grand prize award announcement was made live on CW39’s “Morning Dose” on April 28.

Coppes, a veteran teacher in his 12th year in HISD and fourth year at Ashford ES, credited the support he receives both at work and home for the achievement.

“We are in the business of making the world a better place, and HISD has allowed me to do that in my small corner of education,” Coppes said. “I feel very appreciated by HISD for my efforts to help children. I am also very thankful to my wife, who has supported me through this process and is my biggest cheerleader.”

As part of the award selection process, candidates were observed in the classroom and evaluated based on the successful implementation of a unique STEM-based lesson plan that effectively engaged students.

The award was created to recognize teachers who are increasing student achievement and engagement through innovative lesson plans that emphasize the importance of science. Ashford ES Christopher Walker praised Coppes for his ability to connect with his students.

“Mr. Coppes is a great example of a teacher that displays a true passion for their craft,” said Walker. “He truly loves science and because of the passion he has, his students develop a love for it as well. Mr. Coppes checks the most important boxes in his class; he is engaging, challenging, and supportive to the students he teaches.”

Coppes was one of six finalists to be considered for the award. The other finalists were Gretchen Campbell from Southmayd Elementary School, Henrietta Dixon from Hartsfield Elementary School, Shawn Flores from Bruce Elementary School, Yolanda Guzman from Kate Smith Elementary School, and Kassandra Rios from Marshall Elementary School.

As the Grand Prize Award winner, Coppes will receive a cash prize of $3,500 and $500 for his classroom. All finalists will receive a cash prize of $1,300 as well as $500 for their classrooms. 

This is the second year Alliantgroup has sponsored the HISD Elementary Science Teacher Award.