Students from three HISD high schools named 2022 National Merit Scholarship winners

Students from three Houston Independent School District high schools are members of the first group of 2022 National Merit Scholarship winners.

Corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations finance the National Merit Scholarships. Scholars are selected from students who advanced to the finalist level in the National Merit Scholarship competition and met the criteria of their scholarship sponsors.

The winners are:

Carnegie Vanguard High School

  • Caitlin Mai Dorn, scholarship provided by Emerson Electric Co.
  • Tegh S. Thind, scholarship provided by Siemens Corporation

Bellaire High School

  • Maggie Y. Lin, scholarship provided by Insperity

DeBakey High School

  • Megan E. MacLeay, scholarship provided by Chevron

“These awards result from years of hard work by our students and their teachers,” said Superintendent Millard House II. “It’s also a testament to parents who take an active role in their children’s education. We anticipate great things from Caitlin, Tegh, Maggie, and Megan as they prepare for the next steps in their educational journey.”

Approximately 1,000 distinguished high school seniors have won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards. Most awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $1,000 to $10,000 per year. Some offer a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. Recipients can use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.