HISD principal announcements for the 2023 spring semester

Below you’ll find updated principal announcements for HISD’s 274 campuses during the 2023 spring semester. A change in school leadership can occur for a variety of reasons, including promotions and transfers.

Daily ES names Yasmeen Khaliq as new principal

Yasmeen Khaliq has been selected as the new principal of Daily Elementary School. A proud alumni of HISD schools, Khaliq began her teaching career in HISD at Lewis Elementary School as an ESL/ELA teacher. During this time she also served as literacy specialist through HISD’s Career Pathways program. Most recently, Khaliq served as a magnet coordinator and assistant principal at Ortiz Middle School where she focused on building teacher capacity as instructional leaders, marketing the fine arts programs as magnet coordinator, and developing student systems around culture and increasing engagement. She was also recognized as the 2021-2022 HISD First-Year Secondary Assistant Principal of the Year. Read more.

Bellfort ECC names Cashe’ Alexander as new principal

Cashe’ Alexander has been selected as the new principal of Bellfort Early Childhood Center. A proud native of Houston and product of HISD schools, Alexander started her career as a science teacher at Lamar High School. She later served as the teacher specialist and dean of instruction, supporting all content at High School Ahead Academy, as well as the dean of instruction at Worthing Early College High School. During her years as a campus leader, she was awarded the Excellence in Leadership Award. Read more.

Field ES names Trevor Karr as new principal

Trevor Karr has been selected as the new principal of Field Elementary School. Karr began his educational career at Pugh Elementary School as a special education resource teacher. While at Pugh, he held the roles of the special education department chairperson and teacher specialist. Most recently, Karr served as assistant principal of Briargrove Elementary School. Read more.

Cage ES and Project Chrysalis MS name Maria Z. Castillo as new principal

Maria Z. Castillo has been selected as the new principal of Cage Elementary School and Project Chrysalis Middle School. Castillo most recently served as the assistant principal of Deady Middle School. She began her career as a Bil/ESL teacher. She has also been a curriculum instructional specialist, curriculum assistant principal, family involvement coordinator, and a BIL/ESL coordinator in the Houston area. Read more.

Mandarin Immersion names Cindy Tiet as new principal

Cindy Tiet has been selected as the new principal of Mandarin Immersion Magnet School. Tiet is a product of HISD schools and has 25 years of experience as a teacher, instructional coordinator, dean of instruction at Barbara Bush Elementary School, and most recently as the principal of Daily Elementary School. In 2019-2020, she was recognized as West Area’s First Year Principal of the Year. Under her leadership, Daily Elementary improved from a B rating with two distinctions to an A rating with five distinctions. Read more.

Cullen MS names Jesseye Brown as new principal

Jesseye Brown has been selected as the new principal of Cullen Middle School. Most recently, she was the principal of Bellfort Early Childhood Center. Brown also worked at Ortiz Middle School for five years and held the positions of Science Teacher, Department Chair, Teacher Specialist, and Assistant Principal. During the 2020-2021 school year, she was selected as the Middle School Assistant Principal of the Year for the East Area, and during the 2021-2022 school year she was selected as ESO3 First Year Principal of the Year. Read more.

Waltrip HS names Rhonda Honore as new principal

Rhonda Honore has been selected as the new principal for Waltrip High School. She began her career with HISD 24 years ago and has since served in various roles including elementary and middle school science teacher, content specialist, teacher development specialist, elementary and middle school principal, and most recently as a school support officer where she supervised 11 K-8 campuses. Read more.

Fonville MS names Karol Galindo as new principal

Karol Galindo has been selected as the new principal of Fonville Middle School. For more than 21 years, she has served students and educators in the Houston area. Galindo began her career as a clerk at C. Martinez Elementary School in 2002. It was there she started teaching 5th grade in 2006. After eight years, Galindo was recruited to Sherman Elementary School as a 5th-grade science teacher and the science department chairperson. In 2017, she transitioned to Marshall Middle School as an instructional specialist where she led the science department and oversaw 6th grade. Read more.

Elmore ES names Dr. Tanya Webb as new principal

Dr. Tanya Webb has been selected as the new principal of Elmore Elementary School. An educator of 16 years, Webb joined HISD team as an ELA teacher development specialist in 2019, a role that allowed her to create and facilitate professional development sessions for district employees, specialize in curriculum writing, and provide highly effective coaching to teachers at several high-need campuses, including North Forest High School, Madison High School, and Forest Brook Middle School. Read more.