Tag Archives: Asian-Pacific Heritage Month

HISD observes Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

This month, HISD is recognizing the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) members of our community in observance of Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month.

Continue reading

HISD celebrates Asian Pacific Heritage Month

May is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, a celebration of Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States, and this year, HISD is honoring the district’s Asian principals.

  • Jonathan Trinh, Wisdom High School
  • Jyoti Malhan, Baylor College of Medicine Academy at Ryan
  • Nirmol Lim, Park Place Elementary School
  • John Hendrickson, Field Elementary School
  • Chaolin Chang, Mandarin Immersion Magnet School

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month originated with Congress in 1977, when Rep. Frank Horton of New York introduced a resolution proclaiming the first 10 days in May as Asian Pacific American Heritage Week, and Sen. Daniel Inouye put forth a similar resolution. Neither passed, but the following year, Horton tried again and succeeded, and a joint resolution passed by the House and Senate was signed into law by President Jimmy Carter on Oct. 5, 1978.  Continue reading

Asian Advisory Committee honors five outstanding teachers, one student club

All were formally recognized during HISD’s Asian-Pacific American Heritage Celebration 

HISD observed the start of Asian-Pacific Heritage Month on Thursday, May 7, with a kick-off reception held at Kim Son restaurant downtown.

As a part of that celebration, members of the district’s Asian Advisory Committee recognized five outstanding teachers and one student club for their contributions to Asian students and to HISD as a whole.

The teachers honored were: Marilou Alcaraz (Briarmeadow Charter), Pia de Leon (River Oaks ES), Dr. Nghia Le (Washington HS), Oscar Le (Sharpstown International School), and Nazan Sohail (Key MS). The Asian American club at Chávez High School is led by Thanh Hoang  and sponsored by Maria de Leon. Each winning teacher received a $500 cash prize. The club received a $200 prize to help fund activities.

Continue reading