HISD names 2017-18 Teacher of the Year finalists, Beginner Teacher of the Year winners 

Winners will be recognized on May 18 at the Educators of the Year banquet

In recognition of teaching excellence across the district, HISD will officially crown its principals and teachers at the “royal wedding-themed” Educators of the Year banquet on Friday, May 18, at the Hilton Americas Hotel.

Fourteen finalists have been named for the Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the year. The two winners, who will go on to represent the district in Region 4, will be announced during the Educators of the Year banquet on Friday, May 18. The 14 finalists were selected from all 287 campuses based on performance data and other criteria. 

At the elementary level, the seven finalists are:

  • Maria Linares Aparaicio from Bonham Elementary
  • Keisha Newman from Paige Elementary
  • Miguel Lopez Blanco from Law Elementary
  • Zuleima Martin from McNamara Elementary
  • Darron Smith from Bonner Elementary
  • Aileen Dizon from Wainwright Elementary
  • Melanie Davis-Sanchez from Blackshear Elementary

At the secondary level, the seven finalists are:

  • Auronda Catchings from Cullen Middle School
  • Alejandra Ortega from McReynolds Middle School
  • Tabitha Delley from Hartman Middle School
  • Barbara Garcia Powell from Deady Middle School
  • Nicolette Arceneaux from Henry Middle School
  • Michael Partridge from Heights High School
  • Andrea Sheridan (Nguyen) from Bellaire High School

The Beginning Teacher of the Year honors go to:

  • Ghida Hijazi from Cornelius Elementary
  • Cherina Conner from Henry Middle School
  • Kadee Harper from Lamar High School

Other awards include:

  • Librarian of Year, which goes to Lynn Pharr of Neff Elementary School
  • Instructional Coaches of the Year, which go to James Newman (Districtwide Award) and Bathsheba Nash of Hilliard Elementary School (Campus-Based Award)

The banquet is held annually to recognize the top teachers and principals for the school year. Additionally, the HISD community will have the opportunity beginning Monday, April 23 to vote on their “Fan Favorite” for teacher, who also will be announced at the banquet.