HISD announces 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year finalists

Twelve finalists have been named as HISD’s 2019-2020 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year. The two winners will go on to represent the district in Region IV. The 12 finalists were selected from all 280 schools based on performance data and other criteria. 

At the elementary level, the six finalists are

  • Rebecca Busse from Bush Elementary School
  • Brittany Corprew from Patterson Elementary School 
  • Sonya Crawford from Coop Elementary School 
  • Erica Lopez from Blackshear Elementary School 
  • Katherine Strempel from Travis Elementary School 
  • Joshua Martin from Frost Elementary School 

At the secondary level, the six finalists are

  • Ronith Epelbon Hochman from Briarmeadow Charter School 
  • Kimberly Fletcher from Wisdom High School 
  • Meghan Grout from Burbank Middle School 
  • Rebecca Hiatt from BCM Biotech Academy at Rusk
  • Victoria Moore from Hartman Middle School 
  • Sonia Rodriguez from North Houston Early College High School 

Winners will be announced next week, along with Beginning Teachers of the Year, Librarian of the Year, and Instructional Coaches of the Year. In February, HISD announced the 2019-2020 Elementary and Secondary Princpals of the Year, who both will go on to represent the district as Region IV finalists.