Twenty-nine HISD schools awarded by TEA for top performance in 2014-2015

Campuses receive every distinction designation available from the state.

Twenty-nine schools from across the Houston Independent School District earned the maximum number of distinction designations from the state for their top performance throughout the 2014-2015 school year.

The campuses – 17 elementary schools, six middle schools and six high schools – earned every distinction designation awarded by the Texas Education Agency. Schools are eligible for distinctions if they are rated as having “Met Standard” — the highest rating under the state accountability system — and meet various other performance standards.

All schools that “Met Standard” were eligible to earn five distinctions: Academic Achievement in Reading/English Language Arts, Academic Achievement in Science, Top 25 Percent: Student Progress, Top 25 Percent: Closing Performance Gaps, and Postsecondary Readiness.

Secondary schools also had the ability to earn two additional distinctions: Academic Achievement in Math and Academic Achievement in Social Studies.

Seventeen HISD elementary schools and one middle school earned all five TEA distinctions. An additional six HISD high schools and five middle schools took home all seven available TEA designations.

The 29 schools were among 147 HISD schools to earn at least one distinction designation from the TEA.

2014-2015 HISD Distinction Designations

Campuses Eligible # Awarded Distinction Designation

% Awarded Distinction Designation

Academic Achievement in Reading/ELA




Academic Achievement in Mathematics

89 (algebra I only)



Academic Achievement in Science




Academic Achievement in Social Studies




Top 25% Student Progress




Top 25%: Closing Performance Gaps




Postsecondary Readiness




“These distinctions are proof of the phenomenal work being done every day by the students and teachers in our schools,” said HISD Superintendent Terry Grier. “I’m thrilled to see so many of our schools recognized for their efforts.”

Elementary schools taking home all five distinctions include Bush, Carrillo, Condit, DeChaumes, De Zavala, Horn, Lovett, Lyons, Oak Forest, Park Place, Pleasantville, River Oaks, Roberts, Roosevelt, Travis, West University, and E. White. Baylor College of Medicine Academy, a middle school, also was recognized. However, due to a different configuration, the campus earned academic achievement in math rather than science.

Secondary schools taking home all seven distinctions include Lanier, Pin Oak, and Project Chrysalis middle schools, T.H. Rogers School, Wharton K–8 Dual Language Academy, DeBakey High School for Health Professions, Eastwood Academy, High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, and Bellaire, Carnegie Vanguard, and Challenge Early College high schools.

Just 153 secondary schools across the state earned all seven distinctions, according to the Texas Education Agency.

“Earning any type of distinction under the state accountability system is commendable and should be a source of pride in a community,” Commissioner of Education Michael Williams said in a statement released by the TEA. “Achieving all seven distinctions reflects extraordinary work taking place on a campus while affirming a strong commitment to students.”