Tag Archives: Mike Lunceford

Condit ES selected as finalist for Texas school architecture competition

Designs for three additional bond schools honored with ‘Stars of Distinction’

[photoshelter-gallery g_id=”G0000I.w7bs6wsI0″ g_name=”TASA-TASB-School-Contest” width=”600″ f_fullscreen=”t” bgtrans=”t” pho_credit=”iptc” twoup=”f” f_bbar=”t” f_bbarbig=”f” fsvis=”f” f_show_caption=”t” crop=”f” f_enable_embed_btn=”t” f_htmllinks=”t” f_l=”t” f_send_to_friend_btn=”f” f_show_slidenum=”t” f_topbar=”f” f_show_watermark=”t” img_title=”casc” linkdest=”c” trans=”xfade” target=”_self” tbs=”5000″ f_link=”t” f_smooth=”f” f_mtrx=”t” f_ap=”t” f_up=”f” height=”400″ btype=”old” bcolor=”#CCCCCC” ]

Constructed as part of HISD’s 2012 Bond Program, Condit Elementary School has been selected as one of five finalists vying for the highest honor offered by the 2017-18 Exhibit of School Architecture Competition.

Three additional bond campuses — Atherton Elementary School, Mandarin Immersion Magnet School, and Sterling Aviation High School — received Stars of Distinction.

The annual school architecture competition showcases new and renovated Texas schools and recognizes excellence in their planning and design. It is sponsored by the Texas Association of School Administrators and the Texas Association of School Boards.

Continue reading

New HISD Board President Anna Eastman Discusses 2012 Bond Program and Upcoming HISD Survey

Who: 2012 HISD Board President Mike Lunceford and recently elected 2013 HISD Board President Anna Eastman sit down for a discussion on the district’s recent accomplishments and upcoming priorities and initiatives for 2013. Topics discussed include the 2012 bond program and an upcoming third-party survey of HISD parents, students and staff. This is Lunceford’s last time serving as host of the monthly television program as he passes the reigns to Eastman.

Continue reading

HISD Board President Television Show Takes an Up Close Look at HILZ Program

Who: The November/December 2012 edition of HISD Up Close hosted by HISD Board President Michael Lunceford gives viewers an inside look at the Houston Innovative Learning Zone academies at Jane Long and Scarborough High School, two of six HISD schools that have these new career and technical education programs on their campus. The show also features a tour of the district’s Las Americas Newcomers School, which has students from 32 countries who speak 29 different languages.   Continue reading

All-student TV crew covers Lovett dedication ceremony

Principal Amy Simson welcomed HISD Board of Education President Michael Lunceford, Chief School Officer Sam Sarabia, and the grandson of E. O. Lovett at the elementary school’s official dedication held March 8, 2012.

Edgar Odell Lovett Elementary School was named for the first president at Rice University. Both the university and elementary school share the same mascot and school colors. Principal Simson thanked the community, parents and volunteers for helping build a solid foundation for the children to excel, using both technology and art.

A student on Lovett's WHO TV crew works with Aaron Casares from HISD's Multimedia Services team.

“We are delighted to welcome you to this lovely new space,” she said. “There is so much we have been able to do, we now have special practice rooms for our band, choir and orchestra programs, and through the window wall in our new band room, we can give outdoor performances.”

Lovett’s all-student WHO TV crew worked with HISD TV to cover the event, including holding the cameras, and shooting footage.

Chief Elementary School Officer Sam Sarabia congratulated Principal Simson for Lovett’s continued achievements, and recognized longtime band director Ginny Croft, whose 30-year tenure has earned numerous performing arts accolades, at both the district and state level.

Continue reading

Grier, Lunceford to dedicate Horn Elementary – a magnet academy focused on development of “whole child”

Administrators, staff and students will be joined by HISD Board of Education President Michael Lunceford and Superintendent Terry Grier during the official dedication ceremony for the new Paul W. Horn Elementary today at 9 a.m. at the new campus, 4530 Holly Street.

All building systems on the new campus were designed to yield a projected increase of 24.6 percent in energy efficiency. Click image above for video tour.

“Being a former Horn parent myself, I can’t tell you how delighted I am to see this new building,” said Lunceford.  “This is the kind of facility that every student in HISD deserves.  It saves energy, fits perfectly with the surrounding community, and will prove to be a hub of achievement that parents, students and teachers can be proud of.” 

The new Horn facility is built to Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) standards and all building materials were made using 41 percent recycled content.  All building systems on the new campus were designed to yield a projected increase of 24.6 percent in energy efficiency.  The district has committed to build all new construction projects to LEED standards.                  

The $805 million bond referendum approved by voters in 2007 made this project possible. The new school includes:

  • New library;
  • Bioswale to reduce potable water use;
  • New science labs;
  • New computer lab; and
  • Smart Board technology in all classrooms.

“Our new facility truly supports our focus on a holistic curriculum that speaks to the needs of the whole child,” said Horn Principal Sarah Harrington referring to the academy’s mission as a magnet school.  “With Smart Board technology, our new library and computer lab, we are well poised to meet the needs of all our students.” 

For more information about other school construction projects district wide, visit www.hisdprojects.org.

Trustee Michael Lunceford Elected 2012 HISD School Board President

Outgoing president Paula Harris recognized for her “outstanding leadership and advocacy on behalf of Houston’s school children.”

HISD District V Trustee Michael Lunceford was unanimously elected Thursday to serve as 2012 President of the HISD Board of Education.

The HISD Board of Education officers for 2012 are (L-R): Assistant Secretary Greg Meyers, Second Vice President Juliet Stipeche, President Michael Lunceford, Secretary Rhonda Skillern-Jones, and First Vice President Anna Eastman.

The father of two HISD graduates, Lunceford is a graduate of HISD’s Westbury High School and a Bellaire resident. Lunceford received a bachelor of science degree in petroleum engineering from the University of Texas at Austin in 1981 and is currently the vice president of engineering for Pedernales Energy.

In his acceptance speech, Lunceford said he chose to wear a neck tie adorned with the images of children, instead of a more traditional “power” tie, to send a message.

“We’re here for the kids. That’s what we need to focus on this year,” Lunceford said. “The power of the kids is going to empower us to do what’s right.”

Lunceford and the rest of the Board also took time to recognize Trustee Paula Harris for her service as president in 2011, presenting her with a plaque acknowledging her “outstanding leadership and advocacy on behalf of Houston’s school children.”

Other Board of Education officers for 2012 are:

  • Anna Eastman, First Vice President
  • Juliet Stipeche, Second Vice President
  • Rhonda Skillern-Jones, Secretary
  • Greg Meyers, Assistant Secretary