Teach Plus names 11 HISD educators to its state policy fellowship cohort

The national nonprofit Teach Plus has selected 45 Texas teachers to be a part of its 2022-2023 Policy Fellowship cohort, and 11 of them are from HISD.

The fellows will focus on teacher preparation, recruitment and retention of teachers of color, assessments and accountability, mental health, teacher compensation, and more.

“Being a Fellow is an opportunity to gain an understanding of how educational policies are created at the local, state, and federal level and how they impact our educational system and my students,” said Bruce Elementary School teacher Tanitra Robinson. “I look forward to developing and utilizing skills that will assist me when advocating for scholars in my classroom, representing educators, and creating new solutions for the greater good of all.”

The fellows were chosen, in part, based on their strong commitment to the classroom and equity and ability to advocate for their students.

According to Teach Plus, the fellows will be trained in policy, advocacy, research, and communications and develop the skills necessary to advocate for changes for students across the state of Texas.

The 2022-2023 State Policy Fellows from HISD are:

  • Olutope Aghedo, South Early College HS
  • Erica Coves Fuentes, Janowski ES
  • Erika DeLaRosa, BCM Biotech Academy at Rusk
  • Natalia Egan, Harvard ES
  • Erroll Franklin, Atherton ES
  • Monica Hill, Secondary DAEP
  • Paris Kent, Bellaire HS
  • Traci Latson, Meyerland PVA MS
  • Monique Mason-Kelly, Welch MS
  • Halee Porter, Northside HS
  • Tanitra Robinson, Bruce ES