HISD Announces Second Phase of One-to-One Laptop Initiative

HISD has selected the 18 high schools whose students will be receiving laptop computers in the 2014-2015 school year in the second phase of PowerUp, the district’s one-to-one digital transformation initiative.

The campuses in the next phase are:
Challenge Early College High School
Davis High School
East Early College High School
Eastwood Academy
High School for Law Enforcement & Criminal Justice
Houston Academy for International Studies
Lamar High School
Liberty High School
Long Academy
Milby High School
Reagan High School
Scarborough High School
Sharpstown International High School
Waltrip High School
Westbury High School
Westside High School
Wheatley High School
Yates High School

A team from several HISD departments chose the schools based on the 2012 bond construction schedule, current infrastructure upgrades, grade level/course offerings and networking infrastructure currently in place or scheduled for completion by the 2014-2015 school year.

High schools that are being rebuilt as in Group 1 of the 2012 bond weren’t included because construction would pose a conflict. Virtual schools, campuses not located in HISD facilities, external charter schools, and campuses without adequate networking infrastructure and no available funding source to create that infrastructure are excluded from PowerUp.

Three high schools have already received laptops in the Phase 1 pilot, and students at eight other campuses will join the program in January. All remaining schools will be scheduled to join PowerUp by 2016, in Phase III.

As part of the rollout, parent informational meetings have been taking place with high levels of participation, and teachers at the first 11 PowerUp campuses are receiving ongoing training and support to incorporate the laptops into their instruction.